JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Every employer I have worked for over the last 20 years has employed electronic badge access for nearly every door for every building. These systems can permit deny permissions for single users and for particular times of the day.

How come schools don't use these same systems? You could control exactly who gets in the main areas and what times and could set access based on their class schedule. Don't have a class is this particular room at this time? No access.

As a system administrator, I manage a system in my current job and can quickly (as in within seconds) disable ALL access for a particular person with a check mark in a box. Have a kid going nuts trying to blaze away? Lock down procedures can go into place and mitigate the damage. He/She can't get into rooms anymore.

It would also prevent anyone who is not supposed to be on campus from getting in.

Sure, It won't protect outside areas such as playgrounds or parking lots, but it's certainly a step up from just letting anyone go anywhere.

Seems like a pretty simple solution, am I wrong?

If you want to pay for something like this go ahead. All the Security at SeaTac and other airports still hasn't stopped people taking things they shouldn't into them. So, what makes you think these will work at schools?:):):)

I personally think its a great idea!! It won't work in every aspect but its better than what is there now! I will second the notion that there should be armed guards at every school but with something like this the guards could lock down a school pretty quick.