Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Are there any old Winchester experts here?

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by OR4X4, Sep 14, 2010.

1. OR4X4

OR4X4 Hour south of portland Member

I have an old model 1894 that I would love to gain some knowledge about, as to condition, origionality, and what it's worth from a collection standpoint. If you know alot about them, please let me know and I'll put up a bunch of info about it and some pics.

2. Spitpatch

Spitpatch Forest Grove, Oregon Well-Known Member

I am not an expert. I have a number of old Winchesters, and I have the necessary books to tell you what can be found out. I am one of the very few collectors who will start with the sentence that I did. I am at least as interested as you are about your gun. For me it will be as much a learning experience as it is for you. My father was a devoted lifelong collector of Winchesters, and he tried to impart all his knowledge to me. He would never have claimed to anyone that he was an "expert". We may continue this adventure on this forum, or you may PM me, as is your desire. I believe others may benefit by the public exchange, but my assessment of this entire website is on the whole devoted to other pursuits, and not related to older firearms. I desperately wish it were not so.

3. slingshot1943

slingshot1943 salem or Well-Known Member

I have several old Winchesters. They have always been my favorite gun. I know some things about some of them. I've recently started collecting early semi autos. I would like to see more discussion about Winchesters.

4. toolfan

toolfan North Portland Member

I have an early '94 ('95 production) that I really like, and I enjoyed the heck out of learning about it. Plus, it's a hoot to shoot. :thumbup:

I'd be interested in learning about another.

5. magnum

magnum Springfield American....'nuff said