JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Greetings,

I recently built an AR9 and had a massively successful range session. About 400 rounds with a few minor malfunctions.

I shot 115 Gr ball, 124 gr ball and 147gr flat nose ammo.

I noticed with the 147gr; sometimes it would shortstroke, and sometimes it wouldn't feed (Flat nose with no real feedramp)

As a new AR9 builder, I'm curious. With my 7.5oz Kaw Valley Precision buffer and PCC Spring, is the weight in my Toolcraft Gen2 9mm Glock bolt even necessary? Was this extra weight responsible for the 147gr failing to cycle completely? Does it put too much stress on the bolt catch when it slams into it?

As it is pinned, I'd have to buy a new punch to remove it. Which, isn't really a problem, but I'd rather know for sure before spending money right now.

I appreciate any insight y'all might offer up.

Greetings,

I recently built an AR9 and had a massively successful range session. About 400 rounds with a few minor malfunctions.

I shot 115 Gr ball, 124 gr ball and 147gr flat nose ammo.

I noticed with the 147gr; sometimes it would shortstroke, and sometimes it wouldn't feed (Flat nose with no real feedramp)

As a new AR9 builder, I'm curious. With my 7.5oz Kaw Valley Precision buffer and PCC Spring, is the weight in my Toolcraft Gen2 9mm Glock bolt even necessary? Was this extra weight responsible for the 147gr failing to cycle completely? Does it put too much stress on the bolt catch when it slams into it?

As it is pinned, I'd have to buy a new punch to remove it. Which, isn't really a problem, but I'd rather know for sure before spending money right now.

I appreciate any insight y'all might offer up.