JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok so i just finished my AR build and i have about 5 rounds through it so obviously not broken in.
I got the .22 conversion and i was wondering if i should run 5.56 through it first to break it in before i use the .22. If so how many, and if not is it ok to shoot the .22 through or does the barrel and gas system need to be run in first.

I know its a newb question but im a newb ;).

Thanks in advance, Matt

Congratulations on your first build.... soon, you'll be a junkie...LOL...

Everyone has different opinions on how to properly break in an AR, and i'm sure you'll hear them all.... just go out an shoot the thing & Have lot's of fun. :)

Just remember to Clean it thoroughly after each outing. Shoot as many rounds as you can afford...

oh yeah, post some pic's....

Stay Safe.

Guess it depends on what you mean by "break in".

With the .22 kit the the bullets barely touch the barrel (.221" bullet in a .224" barrel), so almost no effect there. The kit that drops in uses NONE of the operating system of the upper so again has no effect.

Hey Matt, Im not an expert on barrels, but do use a .22 conversion kit in my AR, Like stated above, I don't think it can hurt your new barrel. One suggestion is to shoot a couple of .223 rounds after shooting .22 to blow fouling out of the gas tube.

Most 22 kits like to run wet, at least initially. Also running CCI mini-mag's will help smooth things out for the first couple mags at least. Now if you really want there used to be a great link on all the spots to polish on the kit as well as swap to lakeside springs, I'll have to hunt for the link though now but it definitely helped.