JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have very little to none knowledge on AR type rifles. Mainly because I cannot afford one. I figured a way get one is to build one, buying parts as I go along building it, like a project.

I've seen some guides on some websites on how to put together lowers and uppers and it actually doesn't look that hard. My question is, are all lowers compatible with all uppers. Can I put a Mega lower on a Bushy upper, etc? If not, do you guys have any charts or material you can post?

What do you guys think on what I am doing? Would I be better off saving the cash and just buying one.

Thanks for your help.
Hugo

Yep, any AR-15 upper should fit any AR-15 lower. No problem with a Mega lower/Bushy upper, etc.

I recently went through exactly what you are doing. If you want to build one to save money, you are going to spend more than you would have just buying a complete one.

You can get a pretty good AR on this board for ~$700 if you are patient. I recommend putting the money away as you can afford it, and jump at the first nice AR for ~700 that you like.

+1. I thought I was going to build one until I actually priced and located all of the parts. I ended up saving about $200-300 by just shopping and buying at a good price. A new Del-Ton can be picked up at most shows and shops for about 800-850 and they are fine guns. I have one and love it. By buying new or used you are only paying mark-up on one thing rather than a whole bunch of parts.

IIRC you can't mix colt's with the clones due to their take down pin size differences. Also, colt lowers can't accept most after market trigger groups. I'm sure Wichaka knows tons more about it than I do considering that he moon lights as an armorer.

I also moonlight as a singer...but I think I'll keep my day job!