JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
SO I have a Bushmaster 14.5 "Preban" upper with a permanently at attached flash suppressor. I am not sure if it is blind pinned or silver soldered. I am thinking I want to invest in a suppressor and will need to remove the existing one and replace it with something else???

If I order a new flash suppressor is it something any gunsmith can swap, is it something anyone on the boards can do for me (drinks and dinner).

Not knowing anything about sound suppressors will it make a difference which new flash suppressor I look into getting.....any recommendations??

Thanks

I am not an expert, but once you remove that flash suppressor, you will have made yourself a ATF controlled short barrelled rifle. The reason it was permenantly attached it so the length of the barrel could be more than 16 inches.

Most sound suppressors are removable and to make your rifle legal, it would have to be permanently attached. Even then, I don't know how legal it is to shorten the barrel, if only for a few minutes.

Be careful that you don't step over one of the ATF's lines.

My advice would be to buy a 16" barrel with a removable flash hider and a sound suppressor to go with it.

he should be able to remove the permanent flash suppressor and attach the new one that will allow quick on/off of the suppressor. The new flash hider should still make it legal length.

Your best bet is to take it to someone that really knows what they are doing because more than likely it will have to be torched/cut off part of the way.

he should be able to remove the permanent flash suppressor and attach the new one that will allow quick on/off of the suppressor. The new flash hider should still make it legal length.