JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I recently reloaded some .223 ammo for my AR. 20.3 gr./4198 (minimum load), CCI primer, R.P. case 55gr. FMJ. When fired the cartridge case was not extracted/ejected. In fact the bolt failed to function and required some firm yanking on the charging handle to extract the cartridge case. No evidence on the case/primer of an overload. Other loads and factory ammo functioned perfectly. Pulled some bullets and re-weighed the powder charge and it's OK. I've been reloading for some 45 years and have never experienced anything like this. Any thoughts?:huh:

Got a chrono? How is your POI compared to factory loads?

I bet your charge it too light. It seems to me that posted starting loads are usually very weak.

I recently reloaded some .223 ammo for my AR. 20.3 gr./4198 (minimum load)
I agree on the too light of a charge. This load is near the bottom for .223. 4198 is a fairly fast powder and is not allowing for enough pressure buildup to cycle the action. You might want to consider a different load with a slower powder such as 4895 or Accurate 2230 which I have has good results with.

I agree on the too light of a charge. This load is near the bottom for .223. 4198 is a fairly fast powder and is not allowing for enough pressure buildup to cycle the action. You might want to consider a different load with a slower powder such as 4895 or Accurate 2230 which I have has good results with.