JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello ...My name is Wheeler44 and I'm an Appleseed instructor....this thread is here to answer any questions about Appleseed that you may have..

What? You say that you haven't heard of Project Appleseed?

Then go to RWVA.org and learn all about it..

Wheeler44

We want to go to our first Appleseed this spring. My girlfriend and daughter each have a Ruger 10/22 without a sling. The RWVA website says to bring a "GI Style Web Sling." What exactly is this? Any particular width, with or without a pad on it, etc? What do we NOT want in a sling?

Is my AR-15 a good choice for me to use at Appleseed? How about a sling for it? I'm guessing a single point sling would not be what's recommended...

are there any unannounced Appleseeds in Oregon for 2010?

I first heard of the Appleseed when I was trying to find new sights for my 10/22. I didn't like the stock sights, but I wanted to shoot iron sights. A few google searches and I came across an "appleseed trainer" rifle, and it was exactly the sort of configuration I was wanting. Here's a picture of mine:

twoclones: the sling I have on mine is just a war surplus cotton M1 sling. I bought two of them from sportsmansguide for $25 with shipping. I am pretty sure it will work fine.

Speelyai... that's a nice trainer ya got there...and yep that's a GI web sling...and click adjustable peep sights.. together they make a perfect set up to to learn the fundamentals of rifle shooting...

There is a lot of information about training rifles on the RWVA forum...Different makes and models and set ups to adapt the rifles geometry to the shooters geometry..