JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I very clearly remember the last total eclipse in our area in 1979. I was 10 at the time and thought it was quite fascinating to see it go from light to total darkness. I studied Astronomy in school, so events like this still peak my interest.

Fast forward to 2017 and my daughter is now 10 and will be seeing her first total eclipse. Since it won't be visible as a total eclipse in the Portland area, I'll be taking a day off work and we'll be heading down I-5 somewhere probably right between Salem and Albany, maybe stop in a parking lot, etc., to watch this somewhat rare event. We're getting some special glasses so we can look right at it.

Anyone else interested enough in this that you're going to take a drive to get to an area where it can be seen?

TSE2017_Oregon?format=1000w.jpg

There is a good website with some info and eclipse related products for sale here: Oregon eclipse

We have a place lined up in Madras,which is supposed to be a great spot to see it.
I can only imagine how much traffic there will be...

We have a place lined up in Madras,which is supposed to be a great spot to see it.
I can only imagine how much traffic there will be...

No doubt. I'm guessing I-5 will be worse than the days when the Ducks and Beavers are both playing at home.

There was a total eclipse when I was in junior high school.
Everyone else used a pin-hole viewer to see it indirectly, but I had a welder's glass out of a mask that let me look at it directly.
I was a cool kid for about an hour.

The idea has been tossed around that we may go camping and make a hike to the top of the Mountian to do some shooting of the eclipse.