JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I started a company in 2006 called RT Transport which basically was me and a business partner with a dump truck that we leased out in Arizona. I was the driver and mechanic. Lease rate then was $75 an hour.

For the first three-four months, I was working ten hour days and we were making money hand over fist.

Then the housing industry collapsed in the area and within two weeks we were out of work. Sold the truck and I went into the insurance industry.

So, I have some experience with trucks and expenses and assorted things of that nature.

Every now and then, I will see a big Dodge or Ford diesel dually pickup going down the highway with a gooseneck flatbed hauling a bunch of brand new utility trailers, or fiberglass boats, or some other sort of cargo.

The pickup will have a magnetic sign on it advertising a transport company of some sort.

My girlfriend and I were headed back from Seattle enjoying our road trip and were talking about a semi-retirement job that would allow us to travel that would pay the bills.

I thought of those privately-owned pickups doing fairly light hauling and wondered what the pay was like and if it was worth looking into.

Anyone here have any experience with it or know anyone that does it?

My retired neighbor sold his house and made a custom 1 ton Dodge truck with a mini low boy camper on the back, along with a trailer hitch that could raise or lower as needed and he started hauling new RV Trailers from the mid west to the NW.
On his back track, he would tow a car on a rented tow dolly/trailer. He said that it was lucrative enough and since he loved driving long distances, it was better then sitting home and watching tv.