JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have been kicking around building a new LR rifle on one of the xtra actions i have squirreled away.
Right now i am using a 700 based .30X8MM Mag with 220G MK's,does the job,but the throat is eroding and losing some of it accuracy,3206 FPS will do that :(
After looking at the history,and ballistics of the round it is impressive to say the least.
28 MOA from 100-1000 yds :D
Yes i know brass is expensive,but i can live with that.
From some of the reading,they claim that it is accurate and lethal out to 1200 yards.
So,anyone here have any actual hands on experience with the round?
Just looking for input to help make a decision.

I have no experience with the lapua, but I have always wanted a gun chambered in it. I dont think Ive ever seen any 700s built with .338 lapua. Ive always been eyeballing sako's

It depends on what you are using it for. Its got great terminal ballistics, but might not make the greatest target gun.

I have no experience with the lapua, but I have always wanted a gun chambered in it. I dont think Ive ever seen any 700s built with .338 lapua. Ive always been eyeballing sako's

It depends on what you are using it for. Its got great terminal ballistics, but might not make the greatest target gun.

I have more actions than just the 700s,a couple MDL70's pre and post '64,a Stolle (maybe too small),FN Mauser.
Interesting on the accuracy point,especially since the CIA was first to have the research done to combat the Russians when they were in Afghanistan.
They wanted a LR round that could be shot over the long distances of the rocky canyons in that country.
Due to lack of funding they dropped the idea,hence AI and Lapua picked up on it and made it what it is today.
A Sako would be nice to build off of...if i can find one cheap enough.
Thanks for the input.