Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Any Officers? Law Enforcement Software/Crime Database Management Software Ideas

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by 4Freedom, Mar 3, 2010.

1. 4Freedom

4Freedom Boise, Idaho Well-Known Member

Hi, I am a software developer, as well as a firearms owner. Currently, I develop practice management software for the health care industry. I am right now browsing for new ideas to create a side business and a few have come to mind.

I was browsing the net and found a few larger companies that sell some law enforcement software that manages various areas of police department and a crime database. This software has caught my eye and I wanted to learn more about it and get ideas for my own software from officers or anyone else in a police department who manages or uses this type of software. One reason I am interested in police agency or law enforcement software is that I have seen a variety of products and most look to be extremely high price for the features they offer. I have looked briefly over a few of these softwares and they do not appear to have any other special functionality compared with a variety of other RDBMS (Relational Database Management Systems) or enterprise business or government agency software systems would have.

It seems since the software is specialized for law enforcement agencies, that it is proprietary and hence comes a price tag that is quite exobritant. ANyhow, my goal is to produce a high quality software that can be beneficial to agency that has all the features of other programs, for a much lower price tag.