JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I need help trying to figure out a setup for sound that will cover 2 acres or so of sound at 80db with minimal distortion. Not sure on SPLs. The speakers will need to be left outside in an enclosure that is winter proof and cam be opened as needed. 110v or 240 is 150ft away. Any ideas? LOL. Amp and monitor selection would be appreciated. I have a high power laser projector and I want to impress my 7 year old. Sound ordinances are not an issue.

Since no one has responded, I'll offer what little help I can. I'm by no means an expert, but it sounds like quite a project to me. Depending on what you mean by 'minimal distortion' it may be a bit much for a layman. Loud is easy. Loud and high fidelity is harder. Loud, high fidelity and consistent over a large area is professional territory. You may want to hire an outdoor event sound company (LOL, that's probably not even what they're called) to help you design and tune the system.

I have a high power laser projector and I want to impress my 7 year old. Sound ordinances are not an issue.

Living the dream.

I prefer vintage stuff myself, but if I were to go new tech... a Crown amp with some JBL speakers (SRX835) seems to be the most tried and true formula.

I'd start with an estimate of 3000-5000 watts (expect the dollar to equal the watts for quality gear), depending on your budget, intended music, and levels of sanity. In my head I'd say 10k watts, but my levels of sanity have left long ago lol. Even 1000w is sure to impress, but you may not get the distance you want out of that.