JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
If someone was in the market for the best AK in the market.. what would they be looking for?

Also.. what is the most like a real soviet AK these days?

Sorry for the questions, I am a total AK noob and I would like to pick something up while the ammo is still cheap.

Arsenal is the closest you'll get.
Quality is top notch but you'll pay a pretty penny.

Century has been making waves with their C39 and C39V2*

Im partial to Zastavas aside from a non chrome lined barrel they are awesome rifles for the money. Plenty of new accessories on the market to doll them up. And accurate to boot (yes even for an AK)

There are a few other companies making AKs but they arent anything to write home about, just simple AKs.

Anything specific you're looking for?
Stock options? (fixed or UF or folding?)
Caliber?
Whats the most modifiable?
Stamped or milled?

Id go with a 7.62x39 over the 5.45
Other than online.. 5.45 gets hard to find in panics.
5.56 AKs are decent, Id go with an Arsenal and buy only circle 10 mags if that was the case.

Dont waste your time or money on converting a Saiga, if there are even any left anymore. Money pits.

I'm with za on the arsenals :s0155:

The 5.45 is a lot of fun, so load up on ammo and let the good times roll :s0003:

I went out a week ago with another member and put him behind the controls of a 74'.... I give him a month and he'll have one of his own :)

I'll tell you that some of the higher quality AK's aren't that much better than many of the entry AK's when it comes to function.

I have 2 Zastavas that each cost half the price of any of my 3 Arsenals and the Zastavas are just as good if not better at putting rounds downrange.

Where the Arsenal wins is attention to detail & quality control but they are not perfect.