JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'll put it here to begin with and keep an eye on it just in case it moves. (off topic?)
TLDR condensed version, amateur radio calls check in, curious, keep reading.

AF7XT

Disclaimer:
I'm an amateur extra and volunteer examiner. Ham Radio may seem something of an exclusive club. I'm posting in preppy because I'm not that guy.
I'm approachable about any aspect of amateur radio. I teach. I give exams for free.
GMRS/FRS is not that far removed from my licensed 70cm (440 Mhz) and while useful it not even the smallest bit of radio spectrum available.

As with anything I teach, you will have to put in the work. I will not do it for you. I will test with integrity of the exam being foremost.

That being said I've signed licenses for one 9-year-old, a Korean war veteran that last held a novice license the year I was born, my now wife, a blind operator, and a dog (I'll elaborate below).
What I'm trying to say is that it really isn't that hard. If you want a crash course, I can club you with 16 hours of PowerPoint. If you want to go at your own pace, I can direct you to online study that should only take a few weeks of hour at a time study that will net an entry license.
However, I strongly recommend that you not be satisfied with the entry technician license. The general license is at least a third remedial study with addition information for HF radio operation.

My (our, I don't do this alone) success rate for the tech exam is well over 90%. Those that plan on taking the general at the same time have only a slightly less success rate. Even those that didn't plan on taking the general exam that were threatened with another 16 hours of PowerPoint (/sarc) managed at least a 60% success rate.