JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi All,

I am brand new to reloading, and simply doing it to cut costs, and avoid tossing/recycling all my brass.

Resizing (.223), I read a couple loading manuals, and read a few things online, watched a couple youtube videos and read a bit more. Pretty darn sure I was doing everything right. I figured I would start with the cheap brass, some S&B, once fired. Press and Dies adjusted according to manufacturer instructions (lyman press, lee dies). Everything went smooth, except after resizing there is tooling marks (ring) around the headstamp from the shellholder. I sized several, then was curious, so I removed the die, and readjusted it, same result. Seemed like too much pressure, over adjusted may be the problem, but I followed directions, and even readjusted. Next I figured it may be the cheap S&B brass that is soft, so I pulled out some federal brass, and with the same result, except for the scaring was even worse on the federal.

I guess I am curious, is this normal, or something to be concerned about? Picture attached, and sorry, low quality iphone picture...

photo(2).jpg

I am using the same Lee #4 shell holder. There is no visible burr, but i suppose it couldn't hurt to clean it up a bit and see if it makes a difference.

Might be the shell holder is machined funky and it impressing that mark on the brass.

The cases aren't very hard to pull out of the die are they?? I'de be worried the cases are sticking so badly in the die that the pressure to remove them was tearing the rims of the case, because the look is what I would expect to see in that situation as well.