JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
"INCREDIBLE: Tennessee school counselor talks student with gun out of shooting.

A 14-year-old boy went to Sycamore Middle School on Wednesday asking to speak with counselor Molly Hudgens, according to WKRN-TV.

Authorities said he told her he was having problems and was going to kill teacher and a police officer, but no students; he told her she was the only one who could talk him out of it.

She did.

Read the whole thing."

BZ to the counselor.
This is an important part: "The boy was taken into custody without injury, "

Long long ago, but not so long after Columbine, I had a 14 yr old student tell me he had been bullied and that he was gonna teach them a lesson and "do a Columbine." Fortunately, it was right at the start of my prep period (I'm a teacher), so I had the free time to talk this kid through his anger. I explained how horribly sad I would be if he "Columbined" bc his life would then be over. He'd be dead or incarcerated. I told him that bc I cared about him, I was going to ask him to go to visit the counselor with me right then. That legally, to keep him and everyone else safe, I had to report him, but that the counselor might be able to give him some good non-violent ways to deal with his anger. He was so glad to have someone really express caring for him that he was totally ok with me turning him in.
The story has a good ending. He matured. Graduated from high school. Never "Columbined." Ended up joining the army, got married, had kids.