JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am in the initial stages of planning a Caribou hunt for 2019. I'm a novice hunter, but would be going with an experienced hunter (but no AK experience specifically). I have a couple questions:
  1. Any recommended services/guides?
  2. DIY/drop off vs fully guided? I know there can be a huge price discrepancy here, but if we've got a reasonable shot at success on our own I'd lean towards that.
  3. Ballpark budget?
  4. Min time? I was thinking 5 days.
  5. Any gear you wished you would have taken and/or would not go up without.

Thanks for any advice and your time.

I hope you get some answers in this thread.

My buddy lived in Wasilla and hunted everything up there, including 'Boo. Do you have an idea of what area you wish to visit? Or just anyplace you can harvest one?

I hope you get some answers in this thread.

My buddy lived in Wasilla and hunted everything up there, including 'Boo. Do you have an idea of what area you wish to visit? Or just anyplace you can harvest one?

I'm not partial but was looking at both Brooks Range or Forty Mile heard.

Best go prepared for big bears. They should be a priority in planning your camp, meat storage, food storage, etc. If you hunt some distance away from rivers (salmon runs) that time of year you'll see less bears but they can still be moving through. Good Luck!

Since your exerienced companion has no Alaska experience, I'd say go with a guide if you can afford it. I have been up there a time or two, just not hunting, and it is rugged! A very different thing than local hunting and you'll likely be far away from any help.