JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Check out the encyclopediac AK/SKS messageboard, WW.TheAKForum.com There is an unbelievable wealth of knowledge and discussion there, broken down by nationality, with tutorials and photos of all kinds, all free. You can even search the buy/sell section for actual sold prices of various models.

Immediate random thought about the Yugos: I think that they do not have chrome-lined barrels. I know that the Yugo SKS does not. Shooting surplus corrosive ammo would require immediate cleaning treatment....................elsullo

I'm still pretty new to the in depth knowledge of AK's as well. As far as I understand Romanian WASRs are pretty much a "base model" but still a reliable rifle as long as the sights aren't messed up and something with the gas chamber? Bulgarians seem to be a very good substitute. The best rated from what I've read is a Saiga 7.62 converted. It's a real Russian built AK.

Looking at a pre-ban Yugo ak-47. Are they the best brand/make AK? I am uninformed about AK's and new to them but starting to look. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

Preban rifles like the Yugoslavian M77 (imported by Mitchell Arms) and the Polytech/Norinco (Chinese) AKS-47 are considered some of the best AK clones available. You can't go wrong with a Yugo. What one are you specifically looking at?

Keith

It is a 1992 yugo w/underfold stock. That is about all I know. I can ask and find out. I will see if I can get a model and serial number if that will help.

Preban rifles like the Yugoslavian M77 (imported by Mitchell Arms) and the Polytech/Norinco (Chinese) AKS-47 are considered some of the best AK clones available. You can't go wrong with a Yugo. What one are you specifically looking at?

Keith