JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello folks..Somewhat of a saltwater fishing newbie here that could benefit from your sage wisdom... I enjoy perch fishing from the Oregon & Washington beaches, but I have struggled with dealing with the ultra-fine sand that seems to creep into my reels every time. After a couple of times out, even after giving the reels a fresh water post fishing soak, they are a 'grind' to use (if even usable).

Now granted... I am using cheap fresh water reels. But before I invest in salt water reels (which are much more expensive!!), I'd like to be sure that they are the solution, and not prone to the same sand problem (again, I think the problem is the fine sand, not the salt).

From those of you that do this type of shore fishing.... What is your reel strategy? Do you buy cheap reels and rip them apart to soak/clean after every use? Do more expensive salt water reels keep the sand out better that make it worth the added investment? Any reels to recommend? Thanks much!

I have a penn battle II, and i don't have any issues with it. Just keep it off the sand and clean it occasionally. I bet the salt hurts your reels more than the sand flying by.

I also have never had an issue with sand getting into my reels while beach fishing, maybe I have just been lucky, I am not sure. I tend to use an Abu Garcia baitcaster for that type of fishing.