JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Wifey has informed me that one our neighbors and a customer at the store is interested in purchasing a shotgun for the home, and wants to speak to me about it. I'm not a shotgun guy. I did pick one up a year or so ago cause it was cool and about 50 years old and in great shape. I little single shot, break action 20 gauge. I hated it and promptly sold it to a gentleman member that had one as a kid. :D What I consider appropriate for home defense would be a short barrel, 16"-18" 20 gauge pump, for someone that might be new to shotguns. What is currently available that fits the bill as a nice budget minded,,,ooo, do I dare?..."Shotty" ? The gentleman is a vet and, apparently, decided after his service that he wasn't into guns and doesn't have any now. So he's not a total noob to guns.

Budget?

I hate giving noobs recommendations for guns, I did it for a friend recently and I flat out told him I didn't recommend he buy anything unless he was going to practice with it at the range because I was more worried they would have an ND than defend themselves.

Remington 870 or Mossberg 500 for relatively cheap, pump actions. There are cheaper, those are just the the two most popular.brands in America and can be bought anywhere that budget shotguns are sold.

If Semi-auto shotguns are preferred, they both have offerings in those too.

I hate giving noobs recommendations for guns, I did it for a friend recently and I flat out told him I didn't recommend he buy anything unless he was going to practice with it at the range because I was more worried they would have an ND than defend themselves.

Guy's a VET, not the animal doctor kind. ;)

That's the kind info I was looking for too, thanks.

Simi auto has less recoil
20ga will have slightly less recoil then 12ga
18" is minimum legal without a stamp