1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!
  2. We're giving away over $850 in prizes this month -- enter now for your chance to win!
    Dismiss Notice

A bit about me, and CRISIS-FORCE...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CRISIS-FORCE, May 23, 2014.

CRISIS-FORCE Puyallup, WA CRISIS-FORCE Emergency Network (CFEN)

As I note in my profile, I'm a gray-haired technologist doing pro bono engineering work for a not-for-profit organization. I'm also one of its co-founders, and the acting CTO (chief tech officer), so its mission is important to me (but it's not my day job). In conjunction with several other related projects around the world, CRISIS-FORCE is designing a survivable emergency communications network (CFEN) that is not reliant on the existing power and communications infrastructure, since either or both may fail in a major disaster. In fact, the disaster itself may simply be that power and/or communications have failed, with potentially catastrophic consequences. There are two kinds of people: those who have experienced such failure, and those who will.

With regard to firearms, I'm also involved in a local club and participate regularly in tactical shooting events.

Family-wise, I'm married, with four daughters, two sons-in-law, and four grandchildren. Just about all of us like to shoot (well, not all of the grandchildren, ...yet).

I'm also involved in a men's vocal group that has been performing for free in our community since 2003.
  2. 2Wheels4Ever

2Wheels4Ever Portland Well-Known Member 2015 Volunteer

3. Rocky C

Rocky C Portland Metro Active Member

Welcome! How do we learn more about Crisis-Force?
  4. 8ball

8ball WA Quit talkin' and start chalking!

Interested to hear what you are working on. Lots of geeks here!
    Is it based on a self organizing mesh network?

CRISIS-FORCE Puyallup, WA CRISIS-FORCE Emergency Network (CFEN)