JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm starting out with 500rds of Federal Independence 55g but hasn't arrived yet. I'd like to try out some premium factory loads for grouping and accuracy to sight in on but I haven't formed an opinion on what load to buy... . While I'm comfortable figuring it out on my own Im not experienced with this caliber at all to know what to expect so I thought I'd like to see what everyone's opinions are?

Note, I don't reload so I'd like to keep this discussion to factory loads available. Also my build is a 5.56x45 chamber, 16"bbl, 1:7 twist.

What is your favorite load for accuracy?

Are there any loads for hunting in 5.56?

I know I can fire 223 but is this ideal? Does anyone with a 5.56 chamber actually use 223?

any and all opinions appreciated thanks in advance.

I use .223 when hunting. Otherwise I just use the surplus ammo for plinking and that 77gr Black Hills ammo.
so do you sight in zero with 223? Assuming the same grain weight, how much of a difference in the point of impact between 556 and 223?

That's a whole lot of questions in such a short post, but they're good questions! ;)

Every barrel and bolt will favor certain bullet / primer / powder combos, and there's no way to tell which is best without testing yours. I start with 3-5 loads of varying bullet weights from one manufacturer, say 53-60gr, 62-69gr, and 75-77gr. The main reason to start with one manufacturer is so the bullet weight and shape are more likely to be the only variables; case dimensions, powder type and primer type are more likely to be consistent. Black Hills' remanufactured loads are a relatively inexpensive way to do this sort of testing.