Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

45acp reload question

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by brickman, Feb 12, 2011.

1. brickman

brickman Tualatin Member

To whomever can help,

I just started reloading 45 acp and shot a few test loads today with not so good results. Nothing disastrous, but 3 out of 4 test loads wouldn't cycle properly. I have been reloading 9mm for about 3 months and 2500 rounds with great results using a variety of loads and bullets. Is 45 acp that different? I use Lyman's, Hogdon's, and loaddata.com for my references. Here's what I tried for the 45 acp reloads:

Berry's 185 gr RN DS, CCI 300 large pistol primers, and various tumbled brass on all four lots. OAL = 1.275 on all lots. I loaded 10 rounds each for a total of 40 rounds. The only difference is two different powders with two different amounts for each.

Lot 1 - Blue Dot 8.0 grain
    Lot 2 - Blue Dot 9.0 grain
    Lot 3 - Bullseye 4.5 grain
    Lot 4 - Bullseye 5.2 grain

Lot 4 is the only one that cycled okay, no FTE, and no FTL; however, it only threw the brass about 1-2 foot high and 2-3 foot to the side whereas standard factory brass flies about 2-3 feet up and 3-4 feet to the side from a sitting/bench position. These reloads are for plinking and drill practice only so I do not need anything hot at all, but is this still too light of a load?

After shooting, I made up another couple of test loads with Bullseye 5.3 gr and 5.6 gr that I will test fire tomorrow. I have one other powder on hand (HS-6) that I plan to create a test load or two tomorrow.