JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok so I'm working with an rcbs rock chucker and think my carbide dies may be set incorrectly. Since I don't yet have any powder and I'm totally new at this I decided to deprime some of my few thousand rounds to prep for when I have powder.

Set up the die according to the directions but after pressing out several primers I examine the cases and seem to find that they appear to be bulging in the bottom of the case right above the primer pocket.

Don't have a micrometer yet so I can't give measurements but I don't want to blow through deforming the rest of my brass if this isn't working out. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1413327149.189037.jpg

5 of the 6 in this photo have been pressed. One has not. Am I seeing things or is my press deforming the brass? Look closely at the bottom 1/3 of the case.

Any advice is welcome. I'm at a loss here.

Your decapping punch is screwed-down too much.
Discard those distorted cases.
Back the decapper up into the die, all the way up (counter-clockwise).
Raise the ram with shell holder all the way up.
Screw sizing die down till it touches the shell holder.
Lower the ram.
Screw sizing die down (clockwise) 1/8 of a turn.
Lock sizing die into place.
Insert un-lubed case into shell holder (lube the case if not a carbide die).
(changed from lubed to unlube, thanks elsie)
Raise the ram till the case is all the way into the sizing die (you will feel a small but perceptible "bump" as the ram and shell holder kiss the sizing die).
Screw (clockwise) the decapping punch down till you meet resistance.
Lower the ram to the bottom of it's stroke.
Screw the decapping punch (clockwise) down one turn.
Raise the ram to it's top. Did the primer pop out? If not, lower ram, screw decapping punch down another turn. Repeat until primer pops out of the case.