JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So this was factory ammo from what I was told. I shot these two rounds in my 1895 winchester. They did have alot of recoil. the bullets looked like the typical 180 grain soft point remington puts out . When they do put them out.

My question is what would cause this. I am leaning towards maxed out reload. I am still fairly new to loading. none of my loads have done this .

May have been seated too far and caused over pressure, if you have anymore of this measure the over all length. I assume that this rifle has functioned fine till that ammo and is head spaced correctly.

Look at your primers they are usually the first and best sign of high pressure.

Also, "So this was factory ammo from what I was told" Might say something. Again, primers used may or may not indicate if it was a reload.

Also what does the base of the case say?

Also; possible: ".30-40 Krag brass cases can be formed into .303 Savage dimensions as well."

Or could be bad brass.

Based on where it split I would also consider that there was a headspace problem. If factory ammo, the case may have been formed improperly with the shoulder too far back on the case. When fired, this area would be totally unsupported. If it was a reload, the sizing die was set too low and increased headspace was the result.

As for primer's as an indicator of high pressure, they aren't always the best indicator as some are softer than others. I find that winchester primers tend to flatten out even with mid range loads while CCI's and Wolf, with the same load, still have lots of radius on the edge when fired.

Look for any extractor marks or markings from the bolt face that might be embossed on the case head. I also watch for any "stretch marks" on the body of he case near the head. Also watch for signs of difficult extraction of the fired case.