JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Do I have a problem? Here's what I did.

I'm new to reloading and this is my first load.

Reloading for the 270 rifle. Using a Hornady 140gr boatail soft point (BTSP) Interlock. Small powder charge at 42gr of IMR 4064. Book says C.O.A.L at 3.280". My cartridge is a Winchester.

I set mine at 3.107. A difference of .173" shorter O.A.L. The bullet is seated just past the ribbing and, to me, looks a little too deep.

I came up with this length by marking the cleaning rod with the bolt closed and again with the bullet in the barrel, measured the distance and then compare it to a factory Remington 130gr soft point and they are the same. Later, I measured a Winchester 150gr Power-Point S.P. (with the white tip), and it measures at 3.25".

I'm concerned about the jump space and/or excess pressure caused by less air in the cartridge. Am I over concerned?

Bill

Do you not have calipers? Just curious as to why you would go through all that to measure cartridge OAL. Personally, because I don't know much about max pressure in a .270, I would pull them and start over and set them to 3.25, but I'm not a .270 expert so hopefully someone with more experience with that cartridge will chime in.

Of course I have a caliper! I went through all that because I'm new at it and wanted to check and recheck in more ways than one. This is how I learn. Once I know the difference, I'll be fine with a simple one caliper measurement. It was only later, when I saw that the reload was the same length as one factory load, but shorter than an other. Now I wonder if it's okay or not.

Gotcha, good on you for double checking.