JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Greetings to All,

I'm new at reloading and starting to load some 223. I have an ar15 pistol that is having some issue in feed reloaded rounds. I've tried factory rounds and the gun fed and cycled with no issue. I compared my reloaded rounds to the factory ammo and found that my reloads are longer than the factory, i'm using 55 grn plated projectiles from xtreme bullets. The The suggested col that i've found on hodgdon website is at 2.200. My question is can I seat the projectile a bit deeper? Say 2.190 or less? I'm using the minimum powder charged on my reloads. Would the pressure be affected by the deeper seating and if it does any significant effect? Any input will be appreciated...thanks

They should be seating/feeding if loaded properly. What does it do when not feeding does it not go into the chamber or is it not fully going into battery. Is this happening from the start or after firing and the next round does not chamber?

The low end load may be too low to cycle the pistol properly or the round could be out of spec due to improperly set up dies. Do you have an OAL gauge?..... one of these....http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lyman-Case-...820?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35d61cab7c

I do have a case gauge by Lyman, the bolt will not fully go into battery when the feeding issue happens...it doesnt happen all the time though. Do seating the projectile deeper makes the pressure higher? Is there a minimum length?

I see on Xtreme's site that the 223 has a canalur and that is where you should be seating them to. I would suggest picking up the charge a bit, maybe to the middle, to see if that would fix the issue.