JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm still new to the rifle side of reloading and have spoken with a number of folks who skip the crimping station on 223 in most cases, FMJ's not withstanding. In my first session out testing workup loads, my semi-auto shoved the bullet back into the case twice out of about 20 rounds. I had set bullet depth specific to the chamber, although I did go as long as possible. I've had bullet pushback with low end factory rounds that had bad crimps in this same rifle. I skipped the crimps on these rounds based on feedback from others. Hornady Vmax 40 grain, 25.7 grains CFE 223. Dillion dies.

I never crimp any centerfire rounds. Never had any problem with .270, .30-06, .22-250 or .223 reloads with the bullets moving during recoil.

My Speer manual clearly states "Bullets to be crimped MUST have a crimping groove." Attempting to crimp a non-cannelured bullet will deform the bullet which will degrade accuracy. If not done correctly, with any type of bullet, you will get anything from a slight bulge on the shoulder to a ruined crinkled case. I'm not sure crimping a bullet without the cannelure makes any difference, although it might.

Some brands of cases have thinner necks than others. If you happen to have cases with thin necks and use bushing dies, you may not get enough neck tension to hold the bullets in the necks under recoil. I know for my Winchester cases I have to use a smaller bushing to get the same neck tension compared to my Lapua brass. If you use a die with a button to expand the necks to a uniform diameter you shouldn't have a problem unless the button is over-sized in which case you would end up with minimal neck tension.