JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
UPDATE: Got the problem fixed; turns out I had my hammer spring incorrectly aligned.

Guys,

This is my first attempt at building an AR lower, or any sort of gunsmithing or digging into the internals of a firearm of any type.

I thought I followed the directions carefully with the Geissele SSA trigger (and watched the YouTube video from Bill Geissele), but for the ignorant and first timers like myself, the directions I've found don't go much further than "put the tigger assembly in, then put the hammer assembly in and make sure its springs rest on top of the trigger pin."

Somehow, I've messed things up.

Seems the hammer isn't engaging with the disconnector, and I don't have any real travel in the trigger to speak of at all.

I'm really, really lost here guys. Do any of these photos show something obvious?

That sure looks like the problem, doesn't it? Thanks, fellas.

Been trying to work the hammer assembly (with spring mounted correctly) down to the aligning the hole, and this thing's a bear. You guys got any tips or tricks?

The Geisselle is an AMAZING trigger- but it's also one of the most difficult to install. By no means hard but it takes some work.

I usually push the hammer in with it at a slight angle- partially cocked so to say. It allows a little more direct force, and the hammer face will "slide" down the trigger to the pin hole. Once it's basically there you CAN (not saying to do it, just that you can) cock the hammer to use the trigger as a third hand to help hold hammer in place.

Appreciate the help, guys.

I took a look at Bill Geissele's video on YouTube again and paid attention to exactly how ho finagled the hammer in and - wouldn't you know- it didn't take me more than a minute or two to get the pin started that time. Compared to most of my morning otherwise.