JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Picked this up today and trying to get a solid value on it. Its a 1951 commercial colt 1911 in id say 90-95% condition but i am no gun expert on condition by far. Im sure i got a deal just want to know what the real market on it is. The sights are stamped micro as is the barrel bushing. The lock up is incredibly solid there is absolutely no rattle to this pistol at all. Only flaw on this is seen in the last picture. Any help is appreciated!

Dak

colt1951006.jpg

colt1951005.jpg

colt1951003.jpg

colt1951002.jpg

colt1951001.jpg

colt1951007.jpg

colt1951008.jpg

colt1951004.jpg

Micro is a gun parts manufacturer from, I believe the mid 50s to the late 80s. Their parts, the bushing and target sight for example, were popular with gunsmiths of the era. It's not like there were a bunch of folks cranking out custom 1911 parts back then, so lots of smiths used Micro parts.

Anyway... if it's just a used gun that an unknown smith fit a few parts on 30 or more years ago, then it's worth in the neighborhood of $700, maybe $800 on a good day. If you can figure out who built it, and who owned it and it turns out that one or the other is a well known figure in the 1911 universe... well, who's to say. :rolleyes:

I agree with Creeper, but I'd bump the estimate about $200. The pictures are pretty dark and it's hard to see detail, but I've seen nice samples of this vintage fetching $900-$1000.

By the way. Nice gun. I have a 1951 Government Model, too. The bluing on these guns is wonderful.

Can't tell from pics if a Refinish but with parts swapped out it's no longer a $1K+ gun. You MAY be able to find someone who wants an old Colt, doesn't know what to look for and will pay more.

Like they say condition is everything, for a 1951 gun it is in good but obviously used condition.