JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So, how important is a tight slide to frame fit in the function and reliability of a 1911 design pistol ? I don't see the real benefit when I study the mechanics, but I am no engineer for sure. Whats your thoughts ?

A tight slide to frame fit contributes less to accuracy than a properly fit barrel. Barrel to slide and bushing, bushing to slide fit are all critical. I have found very little to know accuracy improvement with a full length guide rod. Often tight fits (like Kimber) lead to long break in periods where malfunctions may be experienced. I don't want a very sloppy slide to frame fit, however, there needs to be some room for reliabilities sake.

A tight slide to frame fit contributes less to accuracy than a properly fit barrel. Barrel to slide and bushing, bushing to slide fit are all critical. I have found very little to know accuracy improvement with a full length guide rod. Often tight fits (like Kimber) lead to long break in periods where malfunctions may be experienced. I don't want a very sloppy slide to frame fit, however, there needs to be some room for reliabilities sake.

^ this^

Accuracy comes from the barrel locking consistently back up into the exact same position in relation to the sights. Barrel to bushing and barrel hood to slide is where it counts. The frame and slide can rattle like a coffee can of rusty nails, it will make no difference. If you are finding better accuracy on a 1911 with a tight slide frame fit, it's happy co incidence.
I see no difference at all between full length guide rods and GI set ups,

The frame and slide can rattle like a coffee can of rusty nails, it will make no difference. If you are finding better accuracy on a 1911 with a tight slide frame fit, it's happy co incidence.