JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
This ad is no longer active. View more ads here.
Reactions
springfield resize 2.jpg springfield resize 4.jpg springfield resize 5.jpg springfield resize 6.jpg Springfield resize1.jpg springfield resize 2.jpg springfield resize 4.jpg springfield resize 5.jpg springfield resize 6.jpg Springfield resize1.jpg I am not an expert on 1903a1's and this is my first of 2 acquired recently. I will try to give as accurate a description as possible and the little bit of possible history that i have learned.
First, Serial Numbers.
Receiver is marked U.S Springfield Armory 232975 which places the rifle right in the beginning of the first year (1906) it was chambered in 30-06. Previous chambering was in .303.

Barrel is marked S C over the flaming bomb and under that is 1-44. From what i have gathered these barrels are rare also, 1-44 and 2-44 being the last Smith Corona barrels for 1903s made. The 1 and 2 stand for January and February.

There is a poorly marked X on top of the bolt handle on the flat horizontal surface, just down from that is a clearly marked 1 which makes these Smith Corona parts also.

The bayonette band is marked R as is the rear band. On the Sling attachment on the buttstock is marked RP. These are Remington parts.