JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I'm no expert, but I do think my .22 is just fine for popping whistlepigs, and I've been having really good luck using my 60+ year old Mossberg 142 bolt action. I have a 10/22 and MP15/22 but prefer the Mossy.

The .22 is cheaper and I can shoot all day for a few bucks

Perhaps the .17 is more sexy, but a dead whistlepig is a dead whistlepig.

For serious longer range target personally I would look at the .22 CZ long barrel bolt action and find ammo it shoots really consistently. Rimfire - CZ-USA

For fun target plinking I would look at an AR type .22 because they r an absolute blast. Walther makes a couple great ones like hk 416 (both pistol and rifle versions) for around $350. Build quality is very high on those. Or if you want one with a standard AR trigger which can be swapped out for a binary trigger to give you 600 rounds per minute fire rate, the very plasticky 15-22 is an option. Also works well for pests:

Last Edited:

No more than 100yds, I'd say the 22. You'd be able to shoot for hours for $20 bucks. Currently you can get 22 for right at $0.03 per round.

If you want to reach past that, the 17HMR. But when you find it on sale for $10 for 50 rounds (about $.20 per round), you'd better buy a case of it. Usually it's $12-$13 per 50 (roughly $0.25 per round). The 17HMR is a flat-shootin', movin' and scootin' round. You'll be upgrading your rifle, scope and seeing how far you can stretch it after an hour or so. The 17HMR is a tack driving round in the right gun.

Depends on how long you want to target shoot, and what your targets are, and what your finances are, you might end up with both. Lol. ;)

Then again, I don't know your financial situation and $0.25 per round might be cheap to you. I'd say 17HMR if you can afford it.