JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been reloading rifle / pistol for a few years now.. and have been thinking about reloading 12g specifically for buck / slugs. but i've heard of lots of complications about reloading slugs - (bad compression / bad roll crimp) inaccurate etc....

is a drill press with attachment the only way to get a roll crimp?

what specifics should i be looking into to be able to produce reliable ammo.

Loading buckshot should be similar to loading birdshot.
Loading slugs...I dunno.

Instead of loading slugs, I would entertain loading load "single ball".
I remember reading an article about a guy that had his barrel measured for the optimum size ball.
(a cylinder bore or improved cylinder bore might yield best results)
Then he got a bullet mold for that particular diameter.
His results were very good, if I recall.

loading slugs with a roll crimp is easy I even used a hand battery powered drill, I had no issues whatsoever and in my saiga 12 they are very accurate, I can hit milk jugs at 100yds
but I spent a couple more bucks for a Lee 12ga reloader because the roll crimp method eats up the shell casing fast & you get less reloads
you will like shooting slugs they make BIG holes and much damage

Instead of loading slugs, I would entertain loading load "single ball".

I have some factory single ball loads. Bought them to test next to slugs and the ballistics are very similar. The slug would be preferable for hunting due to expansion profile but for target shooting or HD I, personally, would be happy with a ball load.

There are so many jokes I could make right now.