JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Never have myself but I have thought about giving it a try. I have an old book on small game hunting and it has a recipe for them. They are a vegetarian so I suspect it should be as safe as eating beef - but I am not an expert so someone who is (or has tried it) please jump in any time.

Oh man sounds good already! Yep probably a good way to start. Keep the spices minimal at first so you can taste it 'naturally' - but I would be getting into marinades and dry rubs before long then into the smoker for a couple hours before finishing on a slow BBQ.

Quarter the chuck and soak in salt water overnight, one cup salt per gallon. Ate ground hog while visiting family back east and it was very tasty. Chucks aren't much different.

Here's a recipe I found for you. I'm pretty sure there are others. Please let us know how it turns out.

Skin chuck and soak in strong salt water, for 4 hours. Cut up as you would a rabbit. Immerse in boiling water(15 min per #). The water should have just a bit of celery salt, minced onion, and black pepper. When meat is tender, remove from water and dry with paper towels. Cook on grill while basting with barbecue sauce. Brown both sides and check with fork to ensure meat is cooked thouroughly.

Pot Roast Chuck
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 c. boiling water
1/2 c. flour
Clean and wash Chuck. Cut in small pieces. Soak 2 hours in cold salted water. Dry. Season with salt and pepper and roll in flour. Fry in hot bacon grease until brown. Add 1 c. boiling water, cover and cook slow.(about 4 hours). Add more water if needed. When done thicken juice with flour.

Crock pot followed by BBQ sauce + grill = pretty good.

Wine sauce and long simmer= still don't like to think about it