JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Where is the best place to buy a 1 year emergency food supply kit?
I've seen Legacy, Wise, etc in #10 tins or the plastic pails.
Sure looks like the pails would be nice for storage or transport to me at first glance.
I'm new at this, comments/tips/tricks welcome.
THanks.

My personal ramblings after doing some investigation into the various freeze-dried products...

The number of calories per stated serving may be lower relative to a typical 1500-2000 calories per day. For example, if the stated serving provides 300 calories and you assume three servings per day then you'll probably use the food at 2x the assumed rate.

Freeze-dried products require water. Will you have the needed, clean water at all times?

Some of the freeze-dried products contain as much as 40% of your daily salt. Again, investigate and do some math relative to how many servings you might eat per day. All that salt is also going to make you thirsty (more water!).

Have you considered "balancing" your approach with some freeze-dried items, and then canned soups, fruits, beans and more from Costco or other sources? The latter could be rotated through as part of your normal food supply.

I am no expert here.

Peter

QUIET Going along with all of the above, only let those who need to know, have information about your supplies
where they are and what is there. We are all proud of preparing but that ego could cause problems. When it comes to your supplies ? STFU... and family and friends you do tell make then aware of the importance of keeping it quite.