JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I bought a new Glock 19 from Rich's on Saturday and took it to my gun club (CVSC) to shoot it, only to find out that the range was closed because GSSF was holding a shooting match there.

I have never shot competitively before, and to be honest it was a little intimidating to see all the people with high-end race guns and "team Glock" shirts etc. I was a complete newbie with a plain-Jane G19 who didn't have the first clue about what was going on, what the rules were, or how the various stages were organized.

Some GSSF guy whose name I don't recall noticed that I looked like a newbie, so he took a few minutes to explain what was happening. It was too late in the day to register, but he encouraged me to come back today and sign up, which I did.

I had an absolute blast! I don't know (or really care) how my scores stacked up against the other competitors, I just had a good time putting my new G19 thru its paces. The GSSF people were very helpful, and at no time did anyone get impatient with my questions or with the fact that I was a total newbie. I felt welcomed and included. I have never shot at steel plates before, and I am proud to say that I hit every plate in under 8 seconds which is no big deal to a pro with a race gun but is pretty darn good for a guy who is taking a brand new gun out of the box and shooting it for the first time ever.

Props to GSSF for welcoming this newbie to the shooting sports!

So I bought a new Glock 19 from Rich's on Saturday and took it to my gun club (CVSC) to shoot it, only to find out that the range was closed because GSSF was holding a shooting match there.