JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am very close to making my decision, but I wanted some input from others who have been where I am at. I am just getting into shooting with my 10 year old son. He is EXTREMELY excited about the whole thing. He LOVES FBI, NCIS, CIA, etc. He has had air soft guns and regular BB/pellet guns for several years and they are the one thing he never seems to tire of. We started with a Savage .22 lr last spring and have had some great times shooting together. Problem is, only one of us can shoot at a time. (which was a good thing as I was teaching him safety and proper shooting etiquette) We are now ready to move up to pistols. One for each of us. The Walther P22 is a good fit for his hands and the looks of it appeal to him. I have always loved Glocks and am sweet on the G22c.

We will be doing mostly target shooting, but I will be applying for my WA CPL and plan to have the gun available for home defense.

My question to everyone who wishes to chime in.....given my circumstances, do you believe that there is a different combination of pistols that would be better, and still within my $1,200 budget?

Thanks!

Ty

I can speak for the P22. It's a fantastic pistol and if it fits his hands, all the better. It can be a little finicky with cheap ammo, from what I've heard. I usually only shoot CCI, so it's never been a problem.

Can't help you with the Glock - just not my cup of tea. Good luck and kudos for teaching your son!

I would avoid the G22c for a home defense firearm. The compensated barrel will flashblind you if you fire it in low light conditions. If you want a full size 40 S&W, I would go with the G22.

Glocks are great guns and I think they would make a good choice.