Belize municipal elections, 2006 were a series of local elections held on March 1, 2006, to fill vacancies for town councils in Corozal, Orange Walk, San Pedro, San Ignacio, Benque Viejo, Dangriga, Punta Gorda, Belize City and Belmopan. All the councils except Belize City elected one mayor and six councillors; Belize City elected one mayor and ten councillors.
Sixty-seven seats were available, contested by 153 persons representing four political parties. There were four independent candidates, not counting the entrants from the independent political parties VIP and WTP. The United Democratic Party (UDP) won sixty four seats, the People's United Party (PUP) three, and all other parties and independents none.
This was the second straight combined municipal election, following the one conducted in 2003. Previous to this date, elections were within a year to eighteen months of each other. Future elections will also likely be held together, starting with the 2009 election.

View More On
  1. CountryGent

    Myrtle Creek Water Is Contaminated, Unsafe To Drink Until Further Notice

    The small town in Douglas County, Oregon, Myrtle Creek, has an issue with the water supply. Looks like the city is rationing three bottles of water per person. News here. (If nothing else, it is a good reminder to have backup options for the water supply and filtration systems in place.)
Back Top