Reviews Summary
8
 
50%
7
 
44%
1
 
6%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
  1. nwhpfan
    easy, smooth and simple.
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 26, 2018
    I haven't done a private party transaction since the law and was a little unsure about the process....

    I found Money Market via FFL finder on Gunbroker. I called the # and Peter answered. Very professional and helpful.

    I met with the seller and when we went inside I was handed a 4473 and 10 minutes later I was approved and off I went.

    The cost was $30.

    So if you have to do a deal on the east side consider droping in. Or if you make a deal on the internet and need a place to receive your new gun.
  2. Lilhigbee
    Great place to do transfers!!
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 17, 2018
    Bought a rifle from another member here. Met at Money Market Pawn to do the transfer. They are fast and know their business. Lots of rifles, shotguns and handguns to browse while you wait.
    3 members found this helpful.
  3. aasbra
    Easy FFL transfer
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 24, 2018
    Pros
    • + Quick, efficient transfer
    • + Variety of gun inventory to check out
    Cons
    • - Neighborhood a bit rough.
    • - A little way off the freeways (access), but would be convenient if you lived in the area
    Arranged to meet a seller from Vancouver late last week at another pawn shop in NE Portland. After arriving when they opened, we learned there was a problem with their FFL and they couldn't do any transfers at that time, so the seller suggested we head over to Money Market (it was a bit further out of the way for us both). Glad we did. Quick, efficient transfer, and as others noted, a pretty decent selection of guns for a pawn shop. Cost at $30 is fair compared to what some places charge, albeit a bit higher than my typical go to spots on the southwest side of the Portland Metro.
  4. ma96782
    Good for a FFL transfer
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    The staff is friendly and bargains can be found. Take a look at their used rifles, shot guns and pistols selection. Yes, I've bought firearms from them in the past. Who knows......you might have just found a new pawn shop destination when you're hunting for firearms in the Portland, OR area. They'll also help you, when you need an FFL to do that private transfer. BTW, they also carry some new firearms too.

    Aloha, Mark
    One member found this helpful.
  5. CHLChris
    Great selection, easy transfers
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 16, 2018
    Pros
    • + Great selection for window shopping
    Cons
    • - Bad part of town
    This is by no means a full-service gun shop. This is not a place to get your questions answered. But for a pawn shop it is great as a place for finding a used rifle, pistol, or shotgun. They also have new stuff! I think they'll order new guns as well as accept deliveries from online sellers.

    Transfers are only $25 and they always seem to be available.
  6. Plan-B
    Quick & efficient transfers. Really nice folks.
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2017
    I've decided that this is going to be my go-to FFL for out of state transfers. I placed 2 orders with different retailers and my experience receiving them with Money Market were fantastic.

    The first order was with a retailer who didn't have MM's FFL on file. So after placing the order, I emailed MM with my order info to have them send their FFL. This was about 4:30 in the afternoon. I wake up the next morning to a reply that they'd send their license info. Two days later, I go in to pick up a new Beretta APX. The owner (I'm guessing he's the owner), isn't 100% up to date on all the latest tech. I ordered a Wolf Grey frame for the APX at the same time. When he saw the frame, he asked if I'd ordered 2 guns. I explained that it's interchangeable and that the frame isn't serialized. He, very nicely, asked if I minded that he check. I didn't blame him, if he gets something wrong, it's his FFL on the line. But even with that, my start-to-finish time was about 10 minutes. My second order was even better. They were already on file with the retailer, so no extra effort was needed on my part. I had an XD(M) and an LCP II sent there. In and out, I'd say it took him 5 minutes to process the paperwork and background check.

    They're really friendly. Well, about as friendly as anyone can be when you're in the store for less than 10 minutes at a time. :) They charge $20 per gun plus $10 for the BGC. For one gun, the price is pretty typical at $30. If you're ordering 2 or more, you can probably find a better price if you're willing to shop around a bit. But given my experience with them so far, I don't feel all that compelled to shop around.

    If you want to look over the inventory they have, find a time to go when it's not busy. The glass case is packed so full with handguns that you're literally looking at the tops of slides. If you know your stuff, you can figure out what's what. But they're packed in so tight, you can't make out most of the price tags. From what I was able to see, everything seemed to be tagged at full MSRP. So you'll probably need to try haggling a little if you want any discounting.
  7. Plan-B
    My Review of Money Market Pawn Shop
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2017
    I was just here on Friday to pick up a Beretta APX. Ordered online on Monday and the gun arrived Thursday afternoon. But I couldn't get away to pick it up. Walked in around lunchtime on Friday and was done in less than 10 minutes!! I just placed another order to be shipped to them for an XD(M) and an LCP II. The comment about their handgun cabinet is spot on. They're packed in so densely that you have to be able to eyeball and ID guns from looking at just the top of the slide and locking block.
    Alexx1401 likes this.
  8. DirectDrive
    My Review of Money Market Pawn Shop
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2017
    They get great reviews for transfer service.
    They do need more space in the store, though.
    The handguns are literally stacked side by each in the display cabinet.
    You can't casually browse without grabbing someone to assist/show etc.
  9. garyhan
    My Review of Money Market Pawn Shop
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2017
    Have got all my transfers here for many years, and bought a few from their stock. Great guys to to business with.

    gary
  10. Hot Pie
    My Review of Money Market Pawn Shop
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 5, 2017
    I've used this place four times as an FFL when ordering from Bud's online. Great service, always quick and easy.
Loading...