Northwest Firearms
photo.jpg
photo.jpg
Reviews Summary
16
 
40%
10
 
25%
3
 
8%
5
 
13%
6
 
15%
  1. ponyblanket
    It's A Family
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 10, 2019
    Pros
    • + They have a huge inventory. Ask and ye shall receive.
    • + The prices are always encouraging. Usually better than anywhere else.
    • + They are efficient on the National Instant Criminal Background Check System.
    • + They are well-informed on every aspect of firearms.
    Cons
    • - Very busy at times. Especially after work.
    Keith Ward has his family working in the store. It helps keep things running during a slam.
    Also, there is little chance of getting a bully-butt salesperson.

    His son, "Joe", is a wise azz, but in a good way.
    His wife, Maria, is an angel in every way!
    His daughter, Anjelica, knows her stuff.

    Answering the phone is not their strong point. I live with it and appreciate it when I'm in the store.

    Come in, snag a helper, state your wants, hold the attitude, and leave with a smile or more!
    This store and people are worth your patience!
    If you are a socially-impaired, I suggest shopping at slack times like 2 PM.
    One member found this helpful.
  2. pdxparabellum
    Great selection and Great prices.
    4.75/5, 4.75 out of 5, reviewed Mar 27, 2019
    Pros
    • + Huge Selection, Knowledgeable Staff, Largest Shop in Portland Metro Area
    • + Great Prices
    Cons
    • - (Especially bulk) ammo can be bought cheaper elsewhere, NWArmory / OregonRifleWorks etc.
    Been to their store only once, was very impressed at the vast inventory. Larger than most stores in the Portland Metro Area; more guns. Best prices I've seen in the area; on par with what I've seen at NWArmory. Bought a Glock from them at the Rose City Show recently -which was sold out at every other shop. Their employees are all friendly and know what they're talking about. Keith is a good guy, regardless of some of the reviews I've read. I believe he does his job very well considering the volume of people he has to deal with. Open at 9am on Saturdays - something other gun shops have not understood - we want to go shoot early on the weekends! Highly recommended. Only downside is that (especially bulk)
  3. cmerrell75
    Hard to beat this shop
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 7, 2019
    Pros
    • + Large inventory of new and used guns, optics, parts, etc.
    • + Best prices you are likely to find in Oregon
    Cons
    • - Maybe not the best prices on ammo
    So i've been going to Keith's since their retail shop was across the street and I bought a Kimber custom classic from them. I went there because my father, who had an FFL, told me to because he couldn't get it any cheaper... Since then I have bought An AR-15 and several handguns from them, and I have never had a bad experience. I have seen others having bad experiences, but I have a feeling part of the blame was on them. I'm a pretty chill person, and I've gotten more patient as I have gotten older, so I'm not the type of person to escalate a situation. I also know what I want and know enough to not sound like a newb. When I go to Keith's I generally am already decided and i'm just going there because I know they will have it and it will be the best price in town.

    My most recent visit I actually hadn't decided yet but I figured they could help. I was looking at either the Springfield XD(M) OSP or the FN 509 tactical. Up to that point I was not able to find either gun to look at. The Springfield was pretty new and no one had any 509's, I guess they are popular. I was kind of leaning toward the Springfield honestly because I already own an XD(M) .40 and I really like it, plus the color of the FN... I showed up at Keith's, wandered about for a bit, and then explained what I was looking for. The salesman said they didn't have the 509 and he recommended the Springfield anyway because I would need to spend some cash on the FN trigger right away. I was like twist my arm, OK i'll take the springfield. He didn't think they had the OSP with 2 barrels and optic but then he appeared with the case and it had 2 barrels! The only thing it was missing was the vortex optic, but guess what, they had that as well in their well stocked optic display! I looked at other optics but honestly couldn't justify twice the price for Leupold or Trijicon. Anyway, all said and done, I walked out with everything I wanted and it was cheaper than what I was quoted by other local shops. The salesman was super cool, I asked his name (which I have since forgotten, Kurt maybe?), shook his hand, and thanked him for helping me.
  4. ma96782
    I had a good experience at Keith's
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2017
    Some may like it and some don't. Whatever.

    I've bought stuff and used guns too from Keith's (even though I'm a Vancouver, WA resident). My dealings were always positive. And, that also goes for the FFL on the WA side that Keith's uses.

    I've also taken my friends that were visiting from Hawaii there too. They were impressed.

    Aloha, Mark
  5. Sgt Nambu
    My Review of Keith's Sporting Goods
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2017
    I want to talk about Keith's again.

    Went out there today looking for a new, to me, revolver! Got there and had to use the restroom, came back out and was waiting for the next staff member.
    One of the gals asked me if I needed help and came over!
    I must have looked a little green from the new chemo therapy, because she took one glance and asked if I was alright! I told her, no just started the chemo. She immediately took me by the arm, brought out a stool and sat me down! Then she showed me all the used .22 revolvers in the cabinet, nope, not those! She then went over to the desk area and brought out "MY NEW GUN" love at first sight! After checking it out I said I'd take it! Then she helped me with the forms, (chemo brain is a real thing) and we completed the transaction. I asked if I could wait in my car at the front, and she could wave she said I sure could, and that she could come out to me to transfer the gun, which she did! A real sweetie, there!
    Now I know that Keith's is a polarizing place, love 'em or hate 'em!
    Long been my favorite LGS because just because of how they operate! I don't want time wasting, gun fondling, yappers holding me back! I know what I want and both sides spit it out and get 'er
    done!
    You can imagine my surprise at the time, effort and kindness that I was shown! She treated me like a fairy princess! :D
    One other thing. I got exactly what I was looking for, Ruger SP101, used, immaculate and tight, lock, box, and manual for under $450.
    Great selection, great prices!
    2 members found this helpful.
  6. peternov01
    bad service, and trash talk
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2017
    went there three times to do trades with Keith, last one was for a browning high power made in Belgium i've had for over 20 years sitting in my safe. I wanted to use it as trade toward another gun. The trade value he gave me was much lower (200.00) than i would have got just selling it to cabelas, and i told him that. As soon as i told him that he goes on a rant about cabelas and gun prices in general and telling me my gun is not worth what they are offering and some more trash talk i won't post. In The end i went to another gun shop who had what i wanted for the same price and gave me what i wanted in trade. I have tried three times to do business with him due to the store being less than a mile from my house but i'll never go back in there again.
  7. Glock32
    nice service
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 7, 2017
    I walked in waited a minute (about lunch on a Tuesday) asked how they could help. Told them I was looking for a blue label Glick 19. Gave me what I asked for paid the money and all was well. I am loyal to no store its all about price to me. I have purchased a few here in the last 12-15 years and always rcvd good service.
  8. Tirving
    Good prices, Good shop, Customer Service Lacking
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Feb 20, 2017
    I've been in there a few times, getting reloading supplies and odds and ends. Usually, I knew what I wanted and got it without much hanging around. When I was shopping for a rifle and handgun, it seemed like the folks there just couldn't care less about helping me when I had questions. That was about a year ago; but it left an impression as I purchased the guns I mentioned elsewhere and now think about other gun shops when deciding on future purchases.
  9. aarond
    Good selection and price, not such great service
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jan 31, 2017
    I pick up something from Keith from time to time. Keith is hard to see as he stays busy and every other request I have is special and has to go through him. The sales people seem to not really know their stuff and are so busy; I always feel a bit rude being assertive enough to get their attention. If you can get their attention and already know what you want (becasue again, they may or may not know what they're talking about or have any experience with what they are talking about) they have decent enough prices on most things.
    Worth a stop, but don't plan on it being a quick stop or getting great service or learning much.
    But hey, if you leave with a sweet new toy, that's what it's all about right?
  10. Luzelines
    Great selection and prices.
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 18, 2016
    Pros
    • + probably the best selection and prices in the portland metro area.
    Cons
    • - as mentioned numerous times, getting someone to help you can take a bit. When you do get service, it's going to be short and sweet.
    I've shopped at Keith's for almost 10 years, and it's still my go-to shop despite being on the other side of town. Indeed, this is not a place to come in and get a bunch of information about a certain item, expecting the staff to spend a bunch of time explaining. I can only recall once when i was able to get service right after walking in....there are usually several folks ahead of you. I've also had the luxury of being able to stop in mid day during the week - weekends can be nuts and plan on a wait.

    However, if you know what you want, and you've done your homework, this is the place to get a good price on that item.

    At the shows however, i've noticed that due to the amount of tables they usually have, their staff expands to not just about everyone from the store, but their friends and friends of friends. This means that some of the folks there don't work in the firearms industry full time so may be limited in their knowledge of the products.
Loading...