Remington 870 wingmaster barrel lenth/question and a rather boring story.

Discussion in 'Rifle & Shotgun Discussion' started by james83, Sep 22, 2012.

1. james83

james83 I'am feeling fat and sassy

88   0   0
    Hi, Everyone

I have a question about Wingmaster barrels and also a little story I thought i would share, A while back i sold a Remington 870 to get some extra cash for a new gun i had to have, Didnt really miss the 870 shotgun that much but wife did as it was the only gun she felt happy with for home defense. The 870 i sold had a 18.5'' barrel.

Anyways my wife is not really a recreational shooter but she feels its important to have a gun for home defense, I tried to get her comfortable with one of my Glock 21's that i use for home defense purposes but she just really does not like pistols, So i decided to buy another inexpensive shotgun for her to use, I found a Mossberg 500 with 18.5'' barrel in a local store used but in good condition for $220 dollars, Not bad i thought but i was a little short on cash till payday so i put the gun on layaway, Well i went to pick the Mossberg up today, fill out the paperwork background check pay the man ect ect

The clerk at the store calls OSP to do the background check turns out the gun was stolen! Lord knows how it actually ended up on the shelf at the store I thought they checked the serial numbers on guns when the seller takes them to the store for sale?

Well while the clerk is talking on the phone to OSP about the stolen Mossberg im getting bored and im checking out some other guns in the store, I start looking at an old Remington 870 wingmaster magnum with really beautiful wood furniture, a few small dings and scratches here and there but overall in good condition, I really liked the Wingmaster so i gets to thinking hey that would make a great spare gun for duck hunting just in case my over/under craps out on me in the field.