OFA Shotguns Arrived!

Discussion in 'Oregon Firearms Academy' started by OFADAN, May 20, 2011.

1. OFADAN

OFADAN Well-Known Member

6   0   0
    This is something Rick and I have pondered for a long time...we needed some shotguns for the OFA Armory (student rentals, loaners, for the uh oh my Shotgun just broke, or for the guy who brings a 23 pound shotgun holding 17 rounds for his 89 pound wife to train with :)

After Big Dave, Lil Joe, Rick and I graduated from the Remington 870 Police Shotgun Armorer's course last year Rick and I knew we needed to get some 870Ps.

In spite of the current trend to attach any available loose piece of gear onto the gun, Rick and I agree a Home Defense or Bug Out Defensive Shotgun needs to be reliable, simple and effective.

So we spec'd out two Remington 870 Police Magnum Shotguns to include the Wilson Combat adjustable Ghost Ring rear and XO Big White Dot front sights and that's it. No tactical this or that. Simple. We'll attach Wilderness Tactical Product's two point slings (in OD Green of course) once the sling swivels arrive.

We ordered and reiceved the guns from Wild Bill's Gun Shop Wild Bills Gun Shop Web Site and we picked them up.

However, our buddy Zach at Southern Oregon Hydro Printing SO Hyrdo Printing Web Site wanted them first before we even touched off a round. Zach pestered us for what we wanted. To keep things simple we asked Zach to just coat Rick's SG with Ceracoat Ceramic coating in OD Green on the Forearm and Buttstock only. And to coat mine with Ceracoat in OD Green on all the metal only and to leave the Buttstock and Forearm alone...

Well after much discussion Zach insisted we at least Hydro Print mine with Multi-Cam and then engrave both with the OFA Logo and our names in gold. Well...what are Rick and I suppose to do? Argue with him? So we did and you can see Zach's master work below.