JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I was asked several times awhile back by some folks if I could recommend Oregon Firearms Academy (OFA) as a training place to gain knowledge in the area of combat & defensive shooting. I told them I could not, only because I've not been there and witnessed in person what actually is in the curriculum and how they go about teaching it.

My background is over 20 years as a LEO, with most of that being a firearms instructor. Not only teaching for my own departments, but at the police academy, as well as being part of the cadre that helped re-write the academy firearms curriculum.

I have seen and heard what the other area training facilities programs have to offer, but have not been to Brownsville Oregon to see first hand how the ‘red shirts' go about their biz there. For those of you who haven't heard the term ‘red shirt', it refers to a firearms instructor's apparel. They most usually wear red, so they can be readily seen and identified by anyone on the range.

It just so happens that I moderate on northwestfirearms.com with one of their owners, Dan Abbott. I emailed Dan about the possibility of sitting in on a class to get first hand experience of what they are all about. He said he'd do one better than that, and offered to have me participate in their Defensive Handgun 1 class on February 21st, and who am I not to accept such an offer?
Later that same week I received a class conformation in the mail. Also included was a welcome letter outlining some of their operational rules required upon arriving for class, and a small card advertising their Pro-Shop and what they inventory.