JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Disclaimer: I am not a bloodsucking lawyer and don't ever plan on being one, so use my information at your own risk.

Now that I got that out of the way, this is what I did and it has worked well for me. Since I have been asked so many times how to set up a trust like I did, I'll tell you how. This hopefully will show you step by step what you need to do to set up a Revocable Living Trust so you can bypass the Sheriff of the county you live in.

Step 1: Go to the store and buy Quicken Will Maker. My desktop came with Quicken Will Maker 2004, so that's what I use. Once you get it home look at the box for a while, study the corners, and when you can't stand it any more, open the box and install the software.

Step 2: Once it's installed go to "Create Document" and select "living trust". It will then ask what state you live in. If you live in Oregon, select Oregon. If you live in Washington, don't select Oregon. If you're unfortunate enough to live in Alaska.......You're on your own.

Step 3: Fill in the blanks. I'm not going to tell you how to type your name or your family member's names so you're on your own for this one. It will also ask if you are male or female. If you have made it this far in life and don't know yet....you're screwed.

Step 4: Name a successor trustee. This person will be in charge of giving away your stuff when you die.

Step 4: Name an alternate successor. Somebody that you didn't pick in the last step.

Step 5: Name property. This will be entered on the "Assignment of property" which actually puts the trust in ownership of the firearm. Be specific. If it's a Mega Model "Gator" Serial Number "1234567" enter "Mega Gator Serial Number: 1234567"