JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So as most of you probably know, I am a young trader (19). I do own handguns that I have gotten privately. I am sick of having to explain myself & why I have handguns to people. I just lost out on a good deal. The trader doesnt feel like the trade is legal. So how can I help somebody understand that I am legal to own handguns at the age of 18+. & Im not talking about being gifted a handgun by a parent. Im talking about about finding one on the internet & buying it. being under 21. In the state of OR......I would like to get 2 main answers...I know these answers...this is for everyone else....I have posted things like this over & over for each person that tells me what im doing is illegal:s0155: Mod advise is also appreciated

(1) Is it legal to trade a handgun for a long rifle, if you are 18+ under 21 in OR?

(2) Is it legal to trade a handgun for handgun, if you are 18+ under 21 in OR?

(3) Is it legal to sell a handgun privately to somebody over 21, if you are 18 + under 21 in OR?

According to the OFF website:

Hey guys,
I had another quick question for you. Here is the situation: I will be 21 in a couple of weeks and want to purchase a handgun. Obviously I can't do this until I'm 21 so if my father purchases one for me and gives it to me as a gift, he doesn't have to register it under his name or anything does he? I guess I want to clarify that it is illegal to purchase a handgun if you are younger than 21 but it is legal for someone who is less than 21 to own a handgun. Am I correct?

What makes you think we're all guys? (Maybe we are, but never assume.)
It is legal to own a handgun if you are younger than 21(but "over 18"). The prohibition is against purchase, not possession.(FFL holders may not sell handguns or handgun ammo to persons under 21)