JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
All -

There are various threads scattered all over this forum

About bug-in, bug-out, SHTF, Natch Disasters etc. etc.

And there is a lot of good content in them.

However, if I were to have a complaint, they

All are speculative, and lack specificity.

So I am going to suggest a collective thread

Based on a single event.

I make my living as a strategic planner, and,

Yes, I live on a rural dead-end road off of another

Dead-end road. Seven neighbors; the combined skillset

Is pretty awesome. And, yes, I am a Prep Perp.

OK.

December 31st, 2009.

The Pacific NW coast gets hit by an 8.2 subductive earthquake,

With accompanying Tsunami.

And, by the way, the geological Johnnies and Jennies say

We are due for one.

So game it out, whether you are city mouse or country mouse,

From where you live right now.

My intention is to analyze a single event here, and all its subsets,

From multiple viewpoints.

From there, like the process of Triage, people should be able

To pick their own best set of plans and choices.

Some detail:

I-5 is shattered in multiple places from the BC border to somewhere South of Portland,

As are the secondary highways off the I-5 corridor.

Regional power is out, major BPA transmission lines are simply wrecked.

The coastline subsided anywhere from 10' to 130'.

Land line phone is out, cell is sketchy at best.

Internet is down.

The biggest problem that FEMA has is they can't even get in,

Except by chopper.

Seattle, as a city, took the biggest structural damage.

Portland took a lesser hit.

A number of smaller coastal communities are simply not there any more.

And its winter.

isher